Jayalalithaa death inquiry: Arumughaswamy commission sent summons to 6 doctors

Chennai : Fore steps on former Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Jayalalithaa death inquiry commission of Justice (retd) A Arumughaswamy probing the circumstances surrounding J Jayalalithaa’s death has now summoned six doctors from Apollo hospitals on February 5.

The commission, which had indicated that it would examine deputy CM O Panneerselvam on that day, has left him out of the summons list that was issued on Tuesday evening.

The commission has not yet indicated if OPS has been summoned on February 1 or February 5. Efforts to reach the officials from the commission proved futile.

The commission has issued summons to Dr Arulselvam, Dr Kamesh, Dr Ravichandran, Dr Ramagopal, Dr Sajan K and Dr Meenakshisundaram in response to an application filed by Raja Senthoor Pandian, counsel for VK Sasikala, in December.

Apollo had filed an application before the commission that doctors should be examined only if a 21-member medical board is formed. This application was rejected by the commission.

Pandian told, “The commission had initially summoned OPS on Tuesday, but adjourned the proceedings suo-motu without any of the parties asking for it. Now, the latest summons does not include his name,” he said.

The commission on Monday evening issued a letter stating that they would take up the hearing of application number 3 of 2018, which was filed by Apollo, to postpone the appearance of doctors.

However, the commission had already passed orders on this application last week. Sources on Tuesday said when it was brought to the commission’s notice, it acknowledged its error.

Read more : News Readers


News Readers is online news publication. This news posted by news desk from Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh) head office. All news post edit by Deepak Pandey and Asif Khan. For any issues, please mail us at newsreaders.in@gmail.com or call on +91-9198624866 on Monday to Saturday working days up to 10:00 am to 6:00 pm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *